The Long Afternoon of Earth

15980560

The Long Afternoon of Earth

I generally love science fiction from the 50’s and 60’s but this was one of those that was just a little to bland for even me.  It starts in a very distant future where mankind has been reduced t not even a shadow of its former self. There was no explanation as to how the changes to the planet and the lifeforms came about, we were just thrust into the middle with nothing said. I know this was thought to be a good book and example of the genre but it left me flat. The characters had no personality and did not make me care about them, the plot was totally uninteresting and did not seem to really be going anywhere.
It’s a decent book but very slow. The characters are not likable and I found myself rooting for their demise. Overall I would recommend it, but only as a last resort.
Leave a Reply

