Kiss of Crimson

715791

Kiss of Crimson (Midnight Breed #2)

My rating: 5 of 5 stars
I really enjoyed this book a great deal! This grabbed me from the opening and kept me fully engaged for the entire book. The characters are wonderful and well fleshed out giving them the feel of true life. I liked them as real people because their feelings seemed so genuine and they were not perfect but slightly flawed like most people are.

Dante is out looking for a quick nip and maybe something more. On his way out of the club he encounters a Rogue that is not affected by titanium and fights like a crazed animal. When he is attacked during his fight he ends up in the river but manages to find his way into the back room of a veterinary hospital owned by Tess. While trying to help the battered man in her business she is attacked and bitten by the handsome man. Dante later notices that she has a Breedmate mark, and is shocked to realize what he has started.

Tess does not remember being attacked and so continues with her life never knowing that a man/warrior has marked her. She also does not know that her ex is doing something that will ultimately come back and hurt her. Ben, her ex is obsessed with Tess and she has no idea what lengths he goes to see her. With a new drug on the streets that is causing havoc among Breed youth and Darkhaven youth disappearing, the question is are they linked.

These two people are both a little broken but want to be fixed, even they don’t always admit it. You have violence, kidnapping, and drug use, you also have honor, loyalty, and love. You get the best of everything here with vampires both good and bad who fight hard. If you have not started this series yet you need to.

“Then run to me.” Dante’s eyes were fierce as he held her gaze. “I know all about fear, Tess. It lives in me too. That ‘seizure’ I had in your clinic? It’s not a medical condition, not even close.” “What is it?” “Death,” he said woodenly. “For as long as I can remember, I’ve had these attacks—these visions—of my last moments alive. It’s hellish beyond imagining, but I see it as if it’s happening. I feel it, Tess. It’s my fate.” “I don’t understand. How can you be sure of that?” His smile was wry. “I’m sure. My mother had similar visions of her own death, and my father’s too. They happened precisely as she envisioned them. She couldn’t change what was to happen, or turn it back. So I’ve been trying to outrun my own end. I’ve been running from it forever. I’ve kept myself insulated from things that might make me want to slow down and live. I’ve never permitted myself to truly feel.” “There’s danger in feeling,” Tess murmured. Although she could not begin to imagine what kind of pain Dante carried within him, she felt a kinship growing between them. Both alone, both adrift in their worlds. “I don’t want to feel anything for you, Dante.” “God, Tess. I don’t want to feel anything for you either.”
Lara Adrian, Kiss of CrimsonLara Adrian
Leave a Reply

