The Scarlet Deep

25500387

The Scarlet Deep (Elemental World #3)

My rating: 5 of 5 stars

I have loved these books since I read my first Elemental Mysteries novel. I was pulled into those and when the series ended and started again with the Elemental World I was more than happy to continue following. We have many of the characters from the first series showing up and having an active place in these books, which always makes for a good read since you are able to relate to them as you get to know the new characters, though here most have been seen in prior books. The story which was started in earlier novels continues here and is added on to seamlessly as events continue and those in the past are recounted. The characters continue to evolve and become more than just flat actors on the page.

Patrick Murphy is a man who seems to have everything he could want, he runs the immortal side of Dublin with efficiency and a soft touch, he can have any woman he wants immortal or human, but he has regrets that keep him from fully enjoying his life. Anne O’Dea ran away from a relationship after 30 years because she felt her mate was not to be trusted and she had lost herself in their life together,and was no longer who she had been. With the threat of Elixir becoming more and more real for everyone in Ireland these two have to decide what they want before the choice is taken from them.

Murphy is a scoundrel but a lovable guy that you can’t help but root for as he tries to win back the love of his life. Anne is like most intelligent people, she can see the mistakes others make but not her own. The mystery of who is distributing Elixir is still an important part of the story and it is not neglected for the love story. I totally enjoyed this.

“I HATE you,” she told her sister over the speakerphone in her secure wing of Brigid and Carwyn’s house. “No, you don’t.” “I do.” “What did Murphy do?” “Nothing.”  Except kiss me in Galway and remind me that I miss him like a lost limb.  Stare at me during the opera as if he’d eat me alive in the most pleasurable way possible.  Show off his intellect, which has always been the most attractive thing about him.  “Patrick Murphy has been a complete gentleman,” she said. “Unerringly polite and respectful. Painfully welcoming.” Anne heard Mary suck on her cigarette and release a breath. “Hateful man. That would irritate the piss out of me.”
Elizabeth Hunter, The Scarlet Deep  Elizabeth Hunter
Leave a Reply

