Jason

23205616

Jason (Anita Blake, Vampire Hunter #23)

My rating: 4.5 of 5 stars
This was a nice short that gave a showcase to Jason Schuyler, a werewolf who works for Jean-Claude at his club and is also one of his blood donors. The story is straight forward and moves along cleanly and concisely as it lays itself out. The characters are mostly well established with a few new faces that are fleshed out good enough to make me like them. The language is just what you expect from the series after all this time. I am so happy that Jason got a feature since he has always been more of a side character, though he is mentioned quite often.

Jason has been speaking to several of Anita’s live-in loves behind her back. He has a request that he feels he needs back-up for even though Anita has managed to change so much over the past years. Jason is in love and he wants Anita to help him show J.J., the love of his life, what his type of rough sex is. He is considering making a move with J.J. and wants her to be completely good with who he is, just like he is for her. Things can go very well or very badly with the people involved in this little venture.

I would recommend this to anyone who has enjoyed the Anita Blake series.

“Anita,” Jason said. I looked at him and J.J. “You okay?” I shrugged. “I think this is the most complicated BDSM scene I’ve tried without Jean-Claude or Asher involved. It’s like we have all this talent and potential, but no one is in charge.” That was all true. It wasn’t exactly what was spooking me, but it was still part of the truth. It also meant that they’d probably quit asking me what was wrong. “I cannot be with Asher,” Jade said. I shook my head. “I wasn’t suggesting it, just not sure who’s directing everything.” “We’ve made love with Nathaniel in bed with us before,” she said, her voice soft, low, and strangely musical. Her voice didn’t always sound that way, but it often did when she was trying to persuade, or I guess manipulate me. I’d asked her if she’d had theater training, but she didn’t seem to know what I meant, so I’d let it go. I let a lot of things go with Jade, even I knew that, but when she puzzled me enough I stepped back rather than pushing. I wasn’t sure if I was growing up, or she was winning. “You’re in charge, Anita,” Domino said, “so be in charge. What do you want to do?” In my head I thought, Leave. Maybe it showed on my face, because he said, “Do what you enjoy and Jade will follow your lead.” Jade nodded. “Really?” I asked her. “Truly,” she said. “Okay, I know what I want to do.” “I will follow where you lead,” she said. I knew it was both the truth and a lie. She’d follow me for a while, until she decided she didn’t want to, or she got too uncomfortable, then she’d do whatever the hell she wanted to do and somehow it would be my fault, again. I was starting to seriously sympathize with the men who were dating me.”
Laurell K. Hamilton, Jason       Laurell K. Hamilton
Leave a Reply

