Infestation

21195425

Infestation: Suffer the Children 1 (Suffer the Children #1)

My rating: 3 of 5 stars
This was a real slow burn as far as the story taking off considering the fact that it is a short story. While I enjoyed the story for the most part I was a bit lost as to what was going on. The characters are lackluster and do not really make me either like or dislike them so far, though I do feel they have hope of getting more interesting. I understand the plot, since it is a story about a haunting but the source is so strange that I am not understand what it is. I hope this will be clarified in future installments. The language is fine and seems fitting the characters.

Jim Miller is a truck driver with a wife and two young daughters, and like anyone he wants to give them a good life. The type of home he wants cannot be found for a price they can afford, but he finds some land that is reasonable and gives them room to grow on. They build the perfect house and have a house warming party to celebrate their good fortune. That is the last time they are truly happy and fear free in their new home. Something is making itself known to the children and adults by causing disturbances they cannot explain. Now they are faced with the prospect of leaving the home they love for reasons they cannot even explain.

This is a three part serial which I hope gets more involved and maybe lets us in on the secret soon of what is haunting a new house. Why did no one ever buy the land they built on? I will be reading the final installments because I want to know what is going on. I do like a mystery.

Leave a Reply

