Angels of Bourbon Street

Angels of Bourbon Street by Deanna Chase

My rating: 4 of 5 stars


I enjoy these books and I like most of the characters because they have been able to grow as the series has moved forward, then there are some I could do without sometimes. Being set in New Orleans makes this work perfectly for the way things seem to go for everyone here. I have never been but every time I read one of these books I can imagine that I am visiting the French Quarter or the Garden District because of the vivid descriptions of the locales. I chose to listen and read because it does make it so much easier to keep the story going when I am on the go. I can listen in my office at work while still being productive and relaxed.

Jade has been left with only half her soul because of circumstances beyond her control, even though she was doing the right thing. But she decides that nothing is going to stop her from marrying the man of her dreams, Kane. Well, things never go smoothly for Jade no matter how much she wants it to.

Jade is possessed by the ghost residing in Kane’s family home while making arrangements for her wedding. Though they are able to save her once it becomes clear that in her weakened state she is easy prey. Now she will have to live with the person who has the other half of her soul in order to keep her safe, but that does not help her friends.

The narrator, Traci Odom, does a great job of bringing the characters to life, both male and female. If you have enjoyed the first three books in this series then you will enjoy the continued adventures of this new to her craft witch.


“Everyone in this room knows I’m going to say yes, but I’m not willing to let the realm have complete control over us. If we were to become slaves to you, our lives would hardly be worth living anyway. So my offer to you is this: the pair of us will accept your condition of becoming shadowwalkers, but we want to be compensated as a low-level angel would. We also want all the benefits and rights that they have under your laws. There will be no exceptions because we are humans.”
― Deanna Chase, Angels of Bourbon Street


View all my reviews